DIY Framed Honeymoon Shells

My husband and I had an amazing honeymoon in Costa Rica and being the avid and voracious collector of shells and rocks that I am, I brought home a bunch of both (and found a few of the much coveted lucky rocks. For those of you who don’t know what lucky rocks are, they have a stripe that runs all around it.) At this point I had to figure out a new way to display them. I have rocks + shells all around my house- outside on our railing, in glasses and mason jars, rock stacks in my windows, feathers sticking out of sea glass, decorating my fireplace mantle and adorning the base of my potted plants. I even have an interesting piece of driftwood that holds some tiny rocks and shells sitting on my studio table. At this point, I figured it’s time to step up my game. So I decided to frame them.

image

The process couldn’t be more simple.

Materials Needed

Gold spraypaint (or color of choice)
Frame
Shells
Krazy glue
Double-sided tape
Shells
Rocks

I have a stack of unused frames from Ikea (I can’t tell you just how many times they have come in handy- I try to keep my studio relatively simple, clean and something resembling sparse but these are a must have) that I took apart and promptly spraypainted the backing gold.

image

I didn’t use fancy spraypaint- no use wasting Montana here unless you’re looking for a specific, hard to find color (and for those of you unfamiliar with this delightful brand, they have some fantastic colors and the paint itself has amazing coverage.) Once dry I used double-sided tape to ensure the mat board doesn’t slide around (I love that Ikea provides a custom cut mat board.)

image

Then comes the fun part: arranging the shells and rocks. Honestly, this is why I have them all over my house, so I can rearrange them as often as I please. Once in place, all that’s left is gluing them down! I have a hot glue gun somewhere in my house but instead of searching for it, I decided to use Krazy Glue. To be honest, I find it less messy and time consuming than hot glue gun. 

That’s all there is to it! I’d love to see what you come up with. If you are on Instagram, use the hash tag #knowloveknowcolor to be reposted on my feed! xo, Ev.

Leave a Reply

