Crochet Basket

june22nd2015 002This basket was my first crochet project and now I get all of the hype… Crocheting is addicting, relaxing and entertaining. I found the rhythm of it easy with this super bulky yarn (which had the added bonus of being a quick and easy project.)

Disclaimer: I will tell you how I did this but know going into it that I adopted the philosophy of “just wing it” and did not follow a pattern! Crochet patterns are a mystery to me and I figure everything out by trial and error. Not being able to read a pattern means that I also don’t know how to write one. With that said…

I first started with a chain of 100 and single crocheted until it was the length needed for the desired circumference of the basket. I then seamed it together, inside out, using a single crochet. It looks good on the right side, which is important to me, but doesn’t have that seamless look- that’s my next skill to learn!

june22nd2015 003The handles were done separately, and crocheted to the basket itself.

june22nd2015 006

For the bottom I crocheted in a flat circle until it fit the basket. Again, I crocheted it to the basket, inside out.

And that’s it! It wasn’t meant to be stiff to the point of standing straight up; I achieved the perfect balance between stiffness and floppiness by using a super bulky yarn and a hook that was a size smaller than one would normally use. I crocheted this specifically to hold yarn and my only requirements were for the handles to be durable (and they sure are… There is a lot of weight in yarn there and it’s only half full!) I’d love to see what baskets you’ve been crocheting- share them on Instagram using the hashtag #knowloveknowcolor for a chance to be featured on my Instagram site! xo, Ev.

Leave a Reply

